Windstream adds directors to the board

10 September 2014 |

Windstream has announced the appointment of William LaPerch and Michael Stoltz to the company’s board of directors.

LaPerch will work on the board’s compensation arm while Stoltz will serve on the audit committee and both appointments are effective immediately.

The move follows the announcement in July of Windstream’s plans to spin-off parts of its telecoms network into an independent, real-estate investment trust (REIT).

Francis Frantz will leave the Windstream board to become chairman of the REIT, and the appointments also follow the resignation of Dennis Foster who will leave the Windstream board on February 1, 2015.

“Both [LaPerch and Stoltz] are distinguished professionals with deep experience in telecommunications and finance,” said Jeff Gardner, president and CEO at Windstream.

“Bill’s extensive telecoms and technology background will be very beneficial in shaping our ongoing transformation strategy…Mike has provided sound financial advice and strategy to leading public telecoms providers and his financial expertise uniquely positions him to join our audit committee.”

In March this year, Windstream partnered with Infinera for the deployment of a national long-haul network across the US.