AWS expands in India with second region

Peter DeSantis - AWS NEW.jpg

Amazon Web Services (AWS) is to expand its presence in India with a second infrastructure region, with three availability zones.

AWS said its new Asia Pacific (Hyderabad) Region will enable even more developers, start-ups, and enterprises, as well as government, education, and non-profit organisations, to run their applications and serve end users from data centres located in India.

The new AWS Asia Region is due by mid-2022 and will initially consist of three Availability Zones. It will add to the regional portfolio of nine existing regions and 26 zones across India, Australia, Greater China, Japan, Korea, and Singapore.

“Businesses in India are embracing cloud computing to reduce costs, increase agility, and enable rapid innovation to meet the needs of billions of customers in India and abroad,” said Peter DeSantis (pictured), SVP of global infrastructure and customer support, Amazon Web Services.

“Together with our AWS Asia Pacific (Mumbai) Region, we’re providing customers with more flexibility and choice, while allowing them to architect their infrastructure for even greater fault tolerance, resiliency, and availability across geographic locations.”

Commenting on the local impact, K.T. Rama Rao, Minister for IT, Electronics and Communications for the Government of Telangana highlighted the benefits for local IT talent in Hyderabad.

He said: “We are pleased that AWS has chosen Telangana as the location for its second region in India. Hyderabad is an important talent hub for IT professionals and entrepreneurs, and with the increased adoption of cloud computing, we are set to see a transformation in the way businesses in south India harness the power of IT.

“Combining the unique resources of Telangana with AWS, the world’s leading cloud, will boost economic development, power digital-led innovation, and establish a cloud centre hub for the rest of the country.”

Globally, AWS has 77 Availability Zones across 24 infrastructure regions, with announced plans to launch 15 more Availability Zones and five more AWS Regions in India, Indonesia, Japan, Spain, and Switzerland.