T-Mobile US appoints Ulf Ewaldsson as SVP of technology transformation

Ulf Ewaldsson NEW.jpg

T-Mobile US has announced the appointment of Ulf Ewaldsson as the company’s new senior vice president of technology transformation.

Reporting directly to chief technology officer and executive vice president, Neville Ray, Ewaldsson will be responsible for driving T-Mobile’s 5G technology evolution strategy.

“We are thrilled to share the great news that Ulf is joining our team of amazing leaders at T-Mobile who continue to show the other guys what it takes to win in wireless, said Ray. “Just look at what we’ve done with 4G wireless! We’ve been the fastest for 19 straight quarters – nearly five straight years and we’re just getting started.”

He enters the role with more than 30 years’ experience at networking and telecoms company Ericsson, where he most recently served as a senior advisor to the company’s CEO. Before that, he held numerous senior leadership positions including senior vice president and head of business area digital services, senior vice president and chief strategy & technology officer, head of group function strategy & technology, head of product area radio.

“Adding Ulf’s passion and track record for driving innovation to the Un-carrier mix is going to take us to the next level,” added Ray. “Ulf has achieved so many firsts and truly supported the evolution of technology for telecommunications across the globe. Bringing him on board is a total win for T-Mobile and we couldn’t wait to share it! He is going to be the perfect addition to our consumer-first Un-carrier team to drive our 5G evolution strategy!”

Ewaldsson currently serves on several board of directors as both a member and chair, including The Swedish Royal Institute of Technology, ASSA-ABLOY AB, Telecom Management Forum and others. He and his family will be relocating from Sweden to the US for the new role.

T-Mobile US received government approval for its $142 billion merger with Sprint back in December. The approvals come from the Committee on Foreign Investment in the United States (CFIUS), the Department of Justice, the Department of Homeland Security and the Department of Defense.