Nokia appoints fixed networks head amid leadership reshuffle


Nokia has named Sandra Motley as the new president of its fixed networks business group as its new-look group leadership team takes shape.

Motley, who reports into Nokia president and CEO Rajeev Suri, succeeded Federico Guillén on January 1, 2019. Amid the reshuffle, Guillén is now president of EMEA & APAC customer operations at Nokia.

"Sandy is an exceptional leader with comprehensive executive management background across global business functions, and she brings business acumen, strong customer relationship skills, and proven success in leading cross-functional teams to deliver on challenging business and operational objectives. I am pleased that she has accepted this role,” said Rajeev Suri, president and CEO of Nokia.

Motley started her career at AT&T Bell Laboratories and held a range of R&D and sales leadership positions at Alcatel-Lucent in both fixed and wireless businesses. Her roles at Alcatel-Lucent included leading sales for US wireless accounts and serving as chief operating officer (COO) for that company's wireless business, where she was responsible for R&D, quality and operational functions.

After becoming part of Nokia in 2016, Motley oversaw end-to-end solutions for the North America market, and most recently, she has held the role of COO for the fixed networks business group.

The appointments, which come as part of top table reshuffle to sharpen customer organisation focus in two regional groups – Americas and EMEAA - as the 5G era accelerates, include:

- Ricky Corker appointed president of customer operations, Americas;

- Federico Guillén appointed president of customer operations, EMEA & Asia; and

- Ashish Chowdhary left Nokia at the end of 2018 after 15 successful years and started a new role as the head of Apple’s Indian operation.

Nokia's group leadership team, which became effective from January 1, 2019, consist of the following members: Rajeev Suri, Basil Alwan, Hans-Juergen Bill, Kathrin Buvac, Ricky Corker, Joerg Erlemeier, Barry French, Sanjay Goel, Bhaskar Gorti, Federico Guillén, Kristian Pullola, Sri Reddy, Marc Rouanne, Maria Varsellona and Marcus Weldon.