Amdocs, Comcast, Telco Systems, Verizon join MEF board

Amdocs, Comcast, Telco Systems, Verizon join MEF board

Following the MEF, formerly known as the Metro Ethernet Forum, annual members meeting in Toronto last week, new leading industry executives have joined the MEF board of directors.


The new board will focus on expanding MEF’s growing community of service providers, technology vendors, and other companies that are committed to driving the creation of a global ecosystem of automated networks that deliver agile, assured, and orchestrated services.

The board will guide an ambitious work plan that will enable service providers to achieve a faster time-to-market and time-to-revenue for leading-edge services that provide an on-demand, cloud-centric experience with user and application-directed control over network resources and service capabilities.

“We are thrilled to have these prominent and accomplished senior executives joining the board, augmenting an experienced team of professionals who are spearheading industry transformation,” said Nan Chen, President of MEF.

“I personally want to thank our outgoing Board members, Vincent Alesi from Verizon, Allan Langfield from Comcast, Raghu Ranganathan from Ciena, and Lance Hassan from Carrier Ethernet Academy, for their outstanding contributions in helping lead MEF’s work towards realising the Third Network vision.”

MEF Board of Directors

• New Board members include: 

o Shawn Hakl, VP Product and New Business Innovation, Verizon

o Kevin O'Toole, Senior VP, Product Management, Comcast Business

o Gabriel Kerner, VP Network Products and Offerings, Amdocs Technology

o Rami Yaron, VP, Strategy & Business Development, Telco Systems

• Re-elected Board members include: 

o Eric Puetz, Director, Standards and Industry Alliances, AT&T Labs

o Nan Chen, Executive Vice Chairman, CENX

o Scott Mansfield, Standardisation Researcher, Development Unit Network Products, Ericsson

o Ralph Santitoro, Head of SDN/NFV Solutions Practice, Fujitsu Network Communications

o Shahar Steiff, AVP New Technology, PCCW Global

o Alessandro Talotta, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Sparkle

o Michael Strople, President Enterprise Networks, Zayo Group

Appointed Officers

• Nan Chen, President

• Mike Strople, Chairman

• Kevin Vachon, Chief Operating Officer

• Pascal Menezes, Chief Technology Officer

• Dan Pitt, Senior Vice President

• Eric Puetz, Treasurer

• Scott Mansfield, Secretary

Appointed Advisory Director

• Huiling Zhao, Director of China Telecom Cloud Research Center

Earlier this month, MEF announced that it was to extend its work in an attempt to standardise SD-WAN managed services.

Gift this article