ITU wraps up elections

The International Telecommunications Union (ITU) has concluded its elections to select candidates for the organisation’s five elected posts, the 12 members of the Radio Regulations Board and the 48 members of the ITU Council.

Among the results, China’s Houlin Zhao was appointed as the next secretary general of the ITU, following eight years as deputy secretary general. He will take up his post for four years from January 1 2015, with the possibility of re-election for one more four-year term.

The UK’s Malcolm Johnson was appointed as the new deputy secretary general.

We use cookies to provide a personalized site experience.
By continuing to use & browse the site you agree to our Privacy Policy.
I agree